Reeeejected!

Gwen,

Thank you for submitting your story, “Payload”, to Daily Science Fiction. Unfortunately, we have decided not to publish it. To date, we have reviewed many strong stories that we did not take. Either the fit was wrong or we’d just taken tales with a similar theme or any of a half dozen other reasons.

Best success selling this story elsewhere.

 – Jonathan & Michele, Daily Science Fiction
PS An almost.

My first rejection from a pro market! Even though I think it’s a form letter.  I’m going to send them another short right now. That’s not sim-subbing – that’s just per-sis-tance, yo.
Also, does anyone know what the ‘PS An almost.‘ bit means? Anyone else had a similar rejection from DSF?

11 thoughts on “Reeeejected!

  1. The trouble with form letteres is that you never really find out what made your story a near miss. I’ve never submitted anything to Daily Science Fiction myself, but keep trying–eventually you’ll get some useful results.

  2. A real live rejection letter! LUCKY!
    Seems like you’ve already got the knack of persisting past a rejection with clarity (and dare I say humour?), is that a writerly thing? I imagine it would take me a while to work that out.

    Beth Cougler Blom (from work) wrote this blog post about her first rejection for a speaking engagement; something that I could see happening in my life of doing things that include emotional risk.
    In case of curiosity click here: http://bethcouglerblom.com/?p=452

    • I like this, though I don’t feel that I’m being rejected as a person – really, it’s just that my story isn’t what they’re looking for. It doesn’t necessarily even mean that it’s a bad story – but then, that’s why we have beta readers. To tell us when we have, in fact, written a load of shite.
      Anyway, I particularly like point four: “Take comfort in the fact that the rejection happened because you took a risk. ” Yep. ‘Till hell won’t have it.

      • Thanks Leanna for mentioning my blog post and Govoria for going over and reading it! I’m actually heartened by the fact that someone else is writing about rejection – yay US!

        The “PS An almost” first struck me as a personal note from the authors. Could it be that they typed you out the standard form letter but wanted to let you – and you specifically – know that you were quite close? That’s how I read it! Good luck on the path towards acceptance!!

  3. I think the ‘an almost’ means you should read the next few things they publish and try and find the main difference between what makes it and your submission.

    Could be something subtle, or maybe they’re focusing on stories that include some fundamental difference.

    Or maybe they don’t like you, and it’s a personal conspiracy to put an end to your fantastical ideas before they get out. Maybe that editor’s an ass.

    PS- In case, by chance, they’re reading this, I’m sure ‘that editor’ is actually a lovely person that would never do anything unjust and gives freely and happily to those in need.

  4. See, for me, the p.s. an almost is someone adding a personal note to tell you that you ALMOST got in, you are ALMOST there! I think that’s very encouraging! Good for you!! 😀

  5. “an almost” is definitely NOT a part of their form. And I think Anne is right – they are telling you that it was under serious consideration. It could be as simple as “they already bought a similar story” but definitely nothing majorly wrong with it. They almost bought it! Woohoo!

  6. Personally, I think ‘PS: An almost’ means not only that this was NOT a form letter, but also that the writer was shot — possibly even fatally, by a ‘lone’ gunman — in mid-sentence, trying desperately to tell you about something.

    Possibly it was a warning; hard to say at this time.

    …I wouldn’t pay it too much heed…

    Just maybe don’t go outside our eat anything unsealed for the next six months or so. You know, reasonable prudence and all.

    Otherwise, I am enjoying your talent and admiring your fearlessness. Have to actually meet you one day… I am planning to send you a piece I’ve been working on that reminds me of you, and what you do on a page… Maybe aspiring to that will get me to actually finish it.

    Keep on keeping on, girl.

    Words up.

    BK

Leave a Reply

