This.

“I’m the friend of someone who experienced depression. I know it isn’t a choice.” – Kevin Bieksa

This is important.

Rick Rypien was a forward for the Vancouver Canucks who suffered from depression.  This little tidbit of information pretty much tells you all you need to know about the guy: “The Regina Pats re-named their “Unsung Hero Award” the “Rick Rypien Award” because he best exemplified hard work not just on the ice, but also what it meant to his teammates and all the work that Rick did in the community.” (From here.)

From what I know – and feel free to correct me, people-who-know-more-about-hockey (everyone):  In 2008 he talked to his teammates about his struggle with depression. The team, in what I think is a pretty good show of support, worked around his treatment. Rypien worked hard to deal with depression, and so it’s a sad and frightening thing to say that it’s a fight he ultimately lost.

Rick Rypien committed suicide on August 15th, 2011, after over a decade of dealing with mental illness. He was twenty seven.

This is important. I know I’m repeating myself, but I can’t think of anything else to write. Go, Canucks, go – I would have loved you anyway, but now I like you a little bit more.

“Looking at the signs and looking at the symptoms and trying to get a handle on it right off the bat, it definitely helps out in the long run. That was his goal was to help other people and eliminate that stigma that you have to keep it to yourself.”

Here’s the full article and links to MindCheck: http://canucks.nhl.com/club/news.htm?id=613222

3 thoughts on “This.

  1. When Jerry Remi disappeared from the announcer’s booth at Red Sox games it was weird. When he came back and talked openly about his battles with depression I literally cried. It opened me up a bit and no doubt opened up more people’s minds about depression and how it hits everyone.

    But if I have to choose I’m a Bruins fan. 🙂

    • I just looked up Jerry Remi and his story. Amazing! I would like to do a whole buncha write ups about people in the media/public figures who have spoken out about mental illnesses. Pretty cool.
      As for your Bruinness, I’ve decided to continue liking you. Luckily, you have other redeeming qualities. (I know. You can stop worrying now.)

Leave a Reply

