Day 3: Find a Mentor

This is our most difficult task so far, as for many of you, it will involve going outside of your comfort zone.”

I can't imagine what photo I would use for this post, so instead I am putting up a photo of pie. Because it's Pi day (3/14). Mmm, Pie.

Outside of my comfort zone? Like you wouldn’t believe, AoMblog. Like you wouldn’t believe. I don’t even know why – I’ve had an easier time asking men out on dates than I did making the phone call that completed today’s assignment.

Getting ahead of myself, though. Today’s task: Find a Mentor. This isn’t something I’ve ever thought of, so like any good girl my age, I Googled it, and then put some thought into what, exactly, I would be looking for.

What it turns out I really need is someone to help me navigate through a recent change I’ve made in my prospective career. There, I feel more like I’m flailing about in the ocean, splashing random people with salt water and then shouting “Agh! SORRY! Do you like what you do for a living?!?” Which is…inefficient.

Once I got to that, I had someone in mind immediately! Then I spent ten hours or so hemming and hawing, drafting an e-mail, re-drafting said e-mail, deleting same, having rehearsed conversations in my head (Seriously) but ended up doing what I’d like to think of as a ‘patented Gwen move’.

I invented this when I went skydiving, because I don’t remember jumping out of the plane. I believe that, in self-protection mode, my brain simply refused to believe that I was about to do something so phenomenally stupid and counter-evolutionary, and shut down. Like this:

Me: “Okay, ten thousand feet. Going to jump out now.”
Brain: “Oh puh-leeze, no you’re not. If you do, I’m never letting you reproduce.”
Me: “This fails to frighten me, blob of grey goo. Opening the door!”
Brain: “Yeah? YEAH?! I’m out.”

Memory cuts back in at about 9,980 feet.

So now, when I need to do something scary or that my blob of grey goo refuses to comprehend, I just doitreallyfast before it understands. I have used this technique to:

  • Jump in the ocean in the winter
  • Submit stories to places that are ‘out of my league’, like Asimov’s
  • Go to dance classes (see previous comment about my dance skills in yesterday’s post)
  • Ask for a promotion
  • Jump off a bridge (What? It was really high.)

Anyway, I just surprised the brainblob by calling my potential mentor while my brain was distracted by the cat, and blurted everything out over the phone. The long and short of it is – she said yes! (I’m not telling you who she is. But she’s AWESOME, and you are jealous.) I have a mentor!

Today is my favourite day of the challenge, so far. And when I go to meet my new mentor for lunch – we even booked a lunch! My mentor is organized, y’all – I will wear my shiny new shoes.

Day Four: Increase your . . . Ah, hah. Increase Your Testosterone.

Bring it on.

5 thoughts on “Day 3: Find a Mentor

  1. Isn’t it funny, the things that scare us? (not talking about skydiving or jumping in ice water, which would scare most of us), but just calling someone and asking for her mentorship is really just a huge compliment to someone, whether they say yes or no. So now you have a special, dynamic relationship that is almost definitely going to take you to good places … good for you! 🙂

    • I would rather go skydiving than have awkward conversations. I have accepted this about myself . . . I think it’s that, in skydiving, if you fuck it up, you don’t have to worry about it (for very long). An awkward conversation can stay with you forever!*

      *This is not sensible, I know.

  2. I am jealous. I could not do that. It would bother me as much as it bothered you, but I’m too wussy to actually do it.

    Move over Robot Devil. I may be worshiping Gwen for a time.

Leave a Reply

